Economic sustainability

For us, economic sustainability means cooperating with locally operating institutes that know the region and their customers. The regional focus strengthens and protects the individual institute as well as the respective region and the companies located there. Savings are mobilized locally and converted into loans; the profits flow back into the region and make a sustainable contribution to local economic development. Sparkassenstiftung transfers and utilizes these key factors in its project work: to restructure retail banks, to build up microfinance institutions and to strengthen service associations and associated companies.

 


1. Financial Literacy

Education is the key to sustainable development. Knowledge of basic financial interrelations is essential. For this reason, the German Savings Banks are committed to strengthening economic skills and improving the financial scope for private households. They contribute to financial education in Germany with advisory services such as the "Sparkassen-SchulService" for children and young people or "Geld und Haushalt" for adults. Sparkassenstiftung's work is based on this experience as we adapt the concepts and materials to country-specific needs and target groups.

Project Example: Thailand - Financial Education

Basic financial education can enable disadvantaged groups to benefit from quality education. In Thailand we work with the Thai Ministry of Finance (Fiscal Policy Office) and the Government Savings Bank (GSB). Sparkassenstiftung is committed to improving living conditions in the region by promoting financial education for young adults as well as micro and small-scale entrepreneurs in selected areas in north-eastern Thailand.


2. Institution Building

"Fair, caring, close by" - the German Savings Banks succeed in combining excellent earnings with social responsibility and making financial services available to everyone. Cost reduction through cooperation in associations and increased earnings through professionalism are key factors in this success. Sparkassenstiftung transfers and utilizes these key factors in its project work: for restructuring retail banks, transforming informal microfinance institutions into regulated microfinance banks and for establishing associations as service providers for their members.

Project example: Ghana - Strengthening savings and credit cooperatives (Credit Unions) and other microfinance institutions in the provision of financial services

In West Africa, we promote economic growth by supporting credit cooperatives in Ghana, Gambia, Liberia, and Sierra Leone. This enables the credit cooperatives to offer their members financial services tailored to their target groups. Sparkassenstiftung concentrates on further training for the staff of partner institutions and on developing sustainable internal processes. These qualified employees then make a sustainable contribution to the labor market in the project country and strengthen the microfinance institutions from within.


3. Business Games

Since their beginnings in the 1990s, Sparkassenstiftung's Business Games have developed into an international brand and stand for innovative and interactive learning experiences. Knowledge transfer by means of haptic and computer-based simulations means learning experiences far removed from dry theory. Interactions, practical exercises, and the motivation to emerge as winners from the game lead to a high learning success. International and local trainers specially trained by Sparkassenstiftung evaluate the results of each round of the game and analyze them together with the participants.

Sparkassenstiftung's Business Games include:

Board-based business gamesComputer-based business games
 
  • Farmers Business Game
  • Savings Game
  • Micro Business Game
 
 
  • Bank Management Game
  • MFI Management Game
  • Strategic Risk Management Game
  • Market Development Game
 

Sparkassenstiftung's Business Games are often used as project work tools. Whether board-based or computer-based: In these highly practice-oriented training courses, participants learn to analyze interrelations, understand their causes and prepare for the unforeseen in the best possible way.

In 2019, the seven different Business Games - all customized to specific target groups - reached over 24,000 participants in more than 1,300 training sessions.

Sparkassenstiftung für internationale Kooperation e.V.
Simrockstraße 4, 53113 Bonn

Phone: +49 228 9703-0
Fax: +49 228 9703-6613 or -6630

» E-Mail

Bitte schalten Sie JavaScript an, wenn Sie Google Analytics deaktivieren möchten.

Ökonomische Nachhaltigkeit

Ökonomische Nachhaltigkeit bedeutet für uns die Zusammenarbeit mit lokal operierenden Instituten, die die Region und ihre Kundinnen und Kunden kennen. Der regionale Fokus stärkt und schützt das einzelne Institut genauso wie die jeweilige Region und die dort ansässigen Unternehmen. Ersparnisse werden lokal mobilisiert und in Kredite umgesetzt, die Gewinne fließen zurück in die Region und tragen zur wirtschaftlichen Entwicklung vor Ort nachhaltig bei. Die Sparkassenstiftung überträgt und nutzt diese Schlüsselfaktoren in ihrer Projektarbeit: für die Umstrukturierung von Retailbanken, für den Aufbau von Mikrofinanzinstituten und die Stärkung von Dienstleistungsverbänden und Verbundunternehmen.  

1. Finanzielle Bildung

Bildung ist der Schlüssel zu einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung. Hierfür ist das Wissen um grundlegende finanzielle Zusammenhänge unerlässlich. Aus diesem Grund engagieren sich die deutschen Sparkassen für die Stärkung wirtschaftlicher Kompetenzen und für die Verbesserung finanzieller Gestaltungsspielräume von privaten Haushalten. Mit Beratungsdiensten wie dem „Sparkassen-SchulService“ für Kinder und Jugendliche oder „Geld und Haushalt“ für Erwachsene tragen sie zur finanziellen Bildung in Deutschland bei. Auf diesen Erfahrungen beruht die Arbeit der Sparkassenstiftung, wobei Konzepte und Materialien jeweils an die landesspezifischen Bedürfnisse und Zielgruppen angepasst werden.

Projektbeispiel: Thailand – Finanzielle Bildung 

Finanzielle Grundbildung kann benachteiligten Gruppen ermöglichen, von einer qualitativ hochwertigen Bildung zu profitieren. In Thailand arbeiten wir mit dem thailändischen Finanzministerium (Fiscal Policy Office) und der Government Savings Bank (GSB) zusammen. Die Sparkassenstiftung setzt sich für die Verbesserung der Lebensbedingungen in der Region ein, indem sie finanzielle Bildung für junge Erwachsene sowie für Kleinst- und Kleinunternehmer in ausgewählten Gebieten im Nordosten Thailands fördert.


2. Entwicklung regionaler Institute

„Fair, menschlich, nah“ – den deutschen Sparkassen gelingt es, ausgezeichnete Erträge mit sozialer Verantwortung zu verbinden und Finanzdienstleistungen für alle verfügbar zu machen. Kostensenkung durch Zusammenarbeit in Verbänden sowie Ertragssteigerung durch Professionalität sind Schlüsselfaktoren für diesen Erfolg. Die Sparkassenstiftung überträgt und nutzt diese Schlüsselfaktoren in ihrer Projektarbeit: für die Umstrukturierung von Retailbanken, die Transformation von informellen Mikrofinanzinstituten zu regulierten Mikrofinanzbanken und für den Aufbau von Verbänden als Dienstleister für ihre Mitglieder.

Projektbeispiel: Ghana - Stärkung der Spar- und Kreditkooperativen (Credit Unions) und anderer Mikrofinanzinstitutionen bei der Bereitstellung von Finanzdienstleistungen

In Westafrika fördern wir wirtschaftliches Wachstum, indem wir die Kreditgenossenschaften in Ghana, Gambia, Liberia und Sierra Leone unterstützen. Die Kreditgenossenschaften können dadurch ihren Mitgliedern zielgruppengerechte Finanzdienstleistungen anbieten. Die Sparkassenstiftung konzentriert sich auf die Weiterbildung von Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern der Partnerinstitutionen sowie auf die Entwicklung von nachhaltigen internen Prozessen. Diese qualifizierten Beschäftigten leisten dann einen nachhaltigen Beitrag zum Arbeitsmarkt im Projektland und stärken die Mikrofinanzinstitutionen von innen heraus.

 


3. Business Games

Die Business Games der Sparkassenstiftung haben sich seit ihren Anfängen in den 1990er Jahren zu einer internationalen Marke entwickelt und stehen für innovative und interaktive Lernerfahrung. Wissensvermittlung mithilfe von haptischen und computerbasierten Simulationen bedeutet Lernerfahrungen fernab von trockener Theorie. Interaktionen, praktische Übungen und die Motivation, als Gewinner aus dem Spiel hervorzugehen, führen zu einem hohen Lernerfolg. Internationale und lokale Trainerinnen und Trainer, die eigens von der Sparkassenstiftung ausgebildet wurden, werten die Ergebnisse jeder Spielrunde aus und analysieren sie gemeinsam mit den Teilnehmenden.

Zu den Business Games der Sparkassenstiftung gehören:

Brettbasierte Business Games

 Computerbasierte Business Games

 
  • Farmers Business Game
  • Savings Game
  • Micro Business Game
 
 
  • Bank Management Game
  • MFI Management Game
  • Strategic Risk Management Game
  • Market Development Game
 

Als Werkzeug der Projektarbeit finden vielfach die Business Games der Sparkassenstiftung Anwendung. Ob brettbasiert oder computerbasiert: Die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer lernen in diesen stark praxisorientierten Trainings, Zusammenhänge zu analysieren, deren Ursachen zu verstehen und sich auf Unvorhergesehenes bestmöglich vorzubereiten.

Die sieben unterschiedlichen Business Games – alle auf spezifische Zielgruppen ausgerichtet – konnten im Jahr 2019 über 24.000 Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer in über 1.300 Trainings erreichen.

Sparkassenstiftung für internationale Kooperation e.V.
Simrockstraße 4, 53113 Bonn

Telefon: 0228 9703-0
Fax: 0228 9703-6613 oder -6630

» E-Mail schreiben

Bitte schalten Sie JavaScript an, wenn Sie Google Analytics deaktivieren möchten.